PDA

View Full Version : Good idea to torrent on my school wifi?

mini
11-02-2014, 09:35 AM
Ok, my ISP is pretty unforgiving when it comes to illegal downloads. Now my school has pretty decent wifi, and I want to torrent my stuff off of that. Is there a chance that my school tech person would be able to identify that it is me downloading the stuff? I have my own personal macbook air. My worry is that they would notice the speeds dropping, and somehow be able to tell from my IP that it is me.

Any input (preferably from JL or someone else who really knows their shit)?

Thanks,
NIck

Atmosphere
11-02-2014, 09:40 AM
Is it possible to "hide/Change" your IP address by using a VPN, couldn't you?

Drugs
11-02-2014, 09:41 AM
If you're on their network, they'll be able to tell who is using up the most bandwidth. I'm no expert for sure, but I do believe they'll be able to track you based on your IP. I might be wrong though.

zeru
11-02-2014, 09:43 AM
It's pretty fucking easy to find out who's eating up bandwith with programs like Capsa or even moocherhunter.
Must of the network monitoring tools can even be used my a ten year old,so if your school tech guy isn't a complete retard, he will fuck you up.

mini
11-02-2014, 10:06 AM
It's pretty fucking easy to find out who's eating up bandwith with programs like Capsa or even moocherhunter.
Must of the network monitoring tools can even be used my a ten year old,so if your school tech guy isn't a complete retard, he will fuck you up.

I realize that, but how will he know that its me personally? I realize they will know my IP, but besides that, how can they find out my name?

Slowduck
11-02-2014, 10:38 AM
Don't be a fucking idiot, don't torrent on your school wifi.
Buy a torrent friendly vpn and torrent on your home connection. Use common sense

TeAm_FaTaL
11-02-2014, 10:48 AM