Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    ');DROP TABLE 'users';--
    Posts
    737
    Points
    1,710
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    ');DROP TABLE 'users';--
    Posts
    737
    Points
    1,710

    Default Why we cannot connect to public explained

    So I've had a lot of people ask me this question so instead of addressing the question individually I'm just going to explain it right here and now

    In the update Treyarch had for the Wii back when, it made it so if you're common_level_temp_mp.ff didn't match that of the host's you would black screen. Long story short, a modded patch would be different than that of a normal one, therefore you would black screen. This explains why if you we're host of an online game, you could connect but then other player's wouldn't since their patch was different.

    So the above was the kindergarten explanation, I'll explain it more in depth. There exist this thing called a checksum (digit representing the sum of the correct digits in a piece of stored or transmitted digital data, against which later comparisons can be made to detect errors in the data) A checksum is like a fingerprint, no two are alike. A person would be able to determine if a file was tampered with my comparing the checksums of a file, and of course it they matched then it wasn't. This is the method treyarch uses to ensure the common_level_temp_mp.ff isn't tampered with.

    Now their are various types of checksums, ranging from checksum-8, in which is a two byte representation, to a more advanced one called md-5, in which is a 20 byte representation of a file. And all the way in between.

    The checksum of the default common_level_temp_mp.ff is as follows:
    Code:
    Checksum-8: 22
    Checksum-16: 0E22
    Checksum-32: 00000E22
    Checksum-64: 0000000000000E22
    CRC-16: F4EB
    CRC-16 CCITT (X.25 and SDLC protocol): F490
    CRC-32 (Ethernet and PKZIP): 2D0A28BC
    SHA-1: B82EEB776438062A6B4A78357A457B7576C552CD
    SHA-256: DD4AA24C6CE2A0047137C0D0B45136DA307B8E0241BFBF5E1443D70583E91702
    SHA-384: C927EEAFC5AE3EB95549A48770038B367B7E8F52C93C2517CE4BB5701EBB2CFF4FA26ED7D6BC0046B5466A3B210E6EED
    SHA-512: 75183938A7C71323C44F9F5C6D83A74217686DEC4D2D503FFD1B83EF85D77A5C2BB936C25A6953C7C114AEF92F514E25C5AC79CCD321D55991FDE8B40BC91FBC
    MD-5: 7A419D4409C3C83E0DB6A9DBBC78527A
    As you can see, their are various different checksums for a specific file, ranging from simple to very complex. Now I've done some testing with various programs and using brute force to basically change some of the checksums of my mod menu to the default to no avail. So after some research I discovered that Activision/treyarch/call of duty uses MD-5 checksums for security:
    Code:
    MD-5: 7A419D4409C3C83E0DB6A9DBBC78527A
    As of right now, I have not nor do I know is there a way to manipulate a md-5 checksum, so therefore no bypass of the "update"

    Im sure if you edit the update one could take out these checks that let people using a modded patch to connect online if you are not host, but unfortunately we would need to edit that of the regular gamer's for them to connect to us. So there's no point in doing that.


    For you tl;dr people, it's impossible unless you know of a way to change a md-5 checksum :P


    Hope this cleared some things up and as always keep on trolling.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Artist/Hacker
    Hacker
    GoodCodes's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    498
    Points
    1,313
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    498
    Points
    1,313

    Default

    The weird thing is the other day my friend was playing with us in a party online and had his mod menu running. He was non host but was still able to play online with us. We were freaking out lol. No idea how he did it.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    .................................................. ..................
    Want a Sig? Send me a Pm with your request.
    .................................................. ...................

  3. #3
    Member [STB] Austin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Sweet Home Alabama
    Posts
    104
    Points
    266
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Sweet Home Alabama
    Posts
    104
    Points
    266

    Default

    i know that im not a really good modder yet, and bypassing this md-5 checksum is alot harder than i probably think, and im probably going to get told by someone 4 sayin` this, lol, but it doesnt mean i cant have good ideas so please dont judge me cuz u probably think im a stupid noob, thank u.............

    ....................if we could find out the value of the original file`s checksum then make a decoy or false checksum with the values of the original one in the modded file to bypass the security of the md-5 checksum then go from there....................

    and its not impossible because if treyarch can find a way to chech checksums we know they had to of known how to find the value or change the game to check the values so its not impossible to use that aginst them

    so saying its not impossible to bypass this, security of theirs.

    JUST AN IDEA!!!

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Artist/Hacker
    Hacker
    GoodCodes's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    498
    Points
    1,313
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    498
    Points
    1,313

    Default

    You can bypass it every once and a while yo. Just a fraction of a chance though.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    .................................................. ..................
    Want a Sig? Send me a Pm with your request.
    .................................................. ...................

  5. #5
    Member [STB] Austin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Sweet Home Alabama
    Posts
    104
    Points
    266
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Sweet Home Alabama
    Posts
    104
    Points
    266

    Default

    god, it really makes me look like a noob with 18 posts.....

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    ');DROP TABLE 'users';--
    Posts
    737
    Points
    1,710
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    ');DROP TABLE 'users';--
    Posts
    737
    Points
    1,710

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by [STB] Austin View Post
    ....................if we could find out the value of the original file`s checksum then make a decoy or false checksum with the values of the original one in the modded file to bypass the security of the md-5 checksum then go from there....................
    I posted the original ff file's checksum in the OP.
    Code:
    MD-5: 7A419D4409C3C83E0DB6A9DBBC78527A
    The MD-5 Checksum is next to impossible to bypass. A lot of companies use it as a form of security. I doubt a bunch of amateur teen hackers are able to do it.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Member [STB] Austin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Sweet Home Alabama
    Posts
    104
    Points
    266
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Sweet Home Alabama
    Posts
    104
    Points
    266

    Default

    still though not impossible.

    Quote Originally Posted by Nity View Post
    I posted the original ff file's checksum in the OP.
    Code:
    MD-5: 7A419D4409C3C83E0DB6A9DBBC78527A
    The MD-5 Checksum is next to impossible to bypass. A lot of companies use it as a form of security. I doubt a bunch of amateur teen hackers are able to do it.
    oh cool i didnt see, that sure would be cool though, show treyarch what were made of, lol.

    hhhmmmmm..... im sure we could either find a way to bypass it or find another way to install the menu elcewhere, eventually we will have to bypass it though.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by [STB] Austin; 07-25-2011 at 08:46 PM.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    ');DROP TABLE 'users';--
    Posts
    737
    Points
    1,710
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    ');DROP TABLE 'users';--
    Posts
    737
    Points
    1,710

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by [STB] Austin View Post
    still though not impossible.



    oh cool i didnt see, that sure would be cool though, show treyarch what were made of, lol.

    hhhmmmmm..... im sure we could either find a way to bypass it or find another way to install the menu elcewhere, eventually we will have to bypass it though.
    You can't store the menu anywhere else except the common_level_mp.ff. Once the file is changed, it's check-sum is different. The only way it may be possible is with code_post modding, or with binds/infectable GSC's. It's safe to say that having a modded common_level_mp.ff in a public match, and having people successfully connect to you is virtually impossible.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Diehard
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    583
    Points
    955
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    583
    Points
    955

    Default

    may i know how it is you find the MD5 checksum?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    ');DROP TABLE 'users';--
    Posts
    737
    Points
    1,710
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    ');DROP TABLE 'users';--
    Posts
    737
    Points
    1,710

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ~BA~Shadow View Post
    may i know how it is you find the MD5 checksum?
    hxd

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -10. The time now is 05:44 AM.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright © 2016 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.