Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Nooblet MDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    68
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    68

    Default [Help] Keeping same size after editing... FF Viewer problems?

    Fixed: THANKS GUYS!!!

    Hey guys, can someone help me out. I've been trying to edit a file in FF Viewer, and when I try to use the edited mod menu, I get a compile error. After searching and asking for help, people told me to make sure the sizes stay the same. And that's where I'm having issues now.

    #1 Problem: How to keep the size the same?
    ~Whenever I try to add some stuff, I can't change the size.

    #2 Problem: "Could not find file ...-extract.dat"
    ~I keep getting this whenever I start off with a fresh copy of a file. How do I make one of these, since I thought these were made automatically?
    ~Afterwards, it closes the file but when I open the file again, the changes

    #3 Problem: "Error saving .FF Arithmetic operation resulted in an overflow"
    ~Doesn't let me save, when I reopen, changes aren't there.
    ~I'm guessing these mean that I have problems syntax-wise in my code, but even with my saving edits, I regularly get this.

    #4: Problem: "Error opening fastfile: Index was outside the bounds of the array"
    ~Happens especially when I try to add dummy text/comments

    Please help, I feel so close. Basically, this is a follow-up to my other help thread where I'm trying to get rid of the scrolling/unnatural text. I want to soon work on a script for prestige tokens infection [aka continue asking help for making one xD ]

    Oh and two bonus questions:
    1) How do the mod menu item numbers work? I know the first one is the order of the actual menu, but what about the second one?
    2) If I want to add additional scripts, how would I keep the same size? By deleting junk from comments?

    Man we should have a FAQ >.> Thanks a ton guys!

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by MDragon; 12-26-2011 at 04:04 AM.

  2. #2
    Administrator ellijah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5,614
    Points
    8,661
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5,614
    Points
    8,661

    Default

    To keep the size the same go all the way to the bottom of the gsc. and add more letter to the big group of random letter or backspace some of the random letters as needed to make the new size the same as the original.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Nooblet MDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    68
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    68

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ellijah! View Post
    To keep the size the same go all the way to the bottom of the gsc. and add more letter to the big group of random letter or backspace some of the random letters as needed to make the new size the same as the original.
    Hmm... I just tried that, and after making all my changes, I still got Problem#2. My changes saved every time I reopened, so I didn't pay much attention. At the end of vip.gsc, I added more random letters. I got #3, so I kept taking out text until I got #2. However, I got a file size BIGGER than the original one.
    Now: 1414626
    Originally: 1414435

    No matter how many things inside comments I delete, the size stays. Help?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Administrator ellijah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5,614
    Points
    8,661
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5,614
    Points
    8,661

    Default

    All the way at the bottom there is text like this "//jhdfjfdkkdfsjkdjkgdlhlsjahsdjkskjkfhkhfkhsjjasjsdj sdjfs" if the gsc. is to small add to those letters, if it;s to big backspace some of the letters. If you get that error of reopening after you save it doesn't matter just reopen ff. viewer. It should have still saved, also what version of ff. viewer are you using?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Nooblet MDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    68
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    68

    Default

    I get what you're saying, each .gsc has to be the correct size for itself. I was just putting in stuff in vip.gsc, which I never edited.

    How do I know how each individual size should be?

    Wait, at the bottom of which? dd.gsc has that pretty much at the top, with different letters but around the same length.

    Thanks for all the quick replies!

    Edit: Version 2.16

    I think it has a bug, because I added a single letter at one point, gave me problem. Added a instead of v, was alright. Then I added two letters, one by one. Eventually, it came back to one letter overboard. However, now I got 1414436 and I keep removing letters but still get that number (one above the original).

    I've only just edited dd.gsc at this point, so who knows if I'll get errors later on in other .gsc's

    Edit 2: What do you all official modders use? Also, is the file just coded so messily that it's doing this?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by MDragon; 12-25-2011 at 03:01 PM.

  6. #6
    #HitlerDidNothingWrong
    ⌘Flying Dutchman⌘

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    4,018
    Points
    8,445
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    4,018
    Points
    8,445
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: baktiar77 Wii Code: baktiar77

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/77baktiar

    Default

    The normal ffviewer sucks

    I reccomend using ffviewer legacy


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Nooblet MDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    68
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    68

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by baktiar77 View Post
    The normal ffviewer sucks

    I reccomend using ffviewer legacy


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Wow, it helps so much! Found FF Legacy v1.35 and it is much, much better. I'll either edit this or so after I try again. Thank you, thank both of you!

    By the way, I can't find where to rep you guys =(
    Edit: Great, found it xD

    Edit2: everything works wonders! Someone should update those tuts on.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by MDragon; 12-26-2011 at 03:31 AM.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    63
    Points
    160
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    63
    Points
    160

    Default

    ok i have a ?? i did this and i made sure it was the same size but when i start it in private match it says script compile erroor unknown function??

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Wii U Section Moderator
    Computer Engineer
    MrOwnership's Avatar

    Badge

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,435
    Points
    2,862
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,435
    Points
    2,862
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: MrOwnership Wii Code: MrOwnership

    Default

    when you edited the menu you called a function that DNE or you misspelled a function call

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -10. The time now is 03:07 AM.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright © 2016 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.