Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Possible hook?

  1. #1
    1010010011010101101001
    Austin .'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Where the Green Grass Grows. <3
    Posts
    4,830
    Points
    2,134
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Where the Green Grass Grows. <3
    Posts
    4,830
    Points
    2,134
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: x-CrimsoN-x21

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/xCrimmYx?feature=mhee

    Default Possible hook?

    So I was messing around on lego pirates of the carribean (again) and was searching for a jump height addy, and got down to one result. It seemed an odd addy to be stored at, so I was cautious not to write too high. I saw that when I jumped the value was 1, when I landed it was 0... so I put the value to 2 (not sure why now that I think about it, I should have tried 1 first) and turned it on. When I went to jump, I froze half way to the climax of the jump. I think I read that hooks could freeze your game if you nopped it... but I don't think it was a hook. I know I should just blow it off as whatever, but for the sake of learning I had to ask what it could possibly be.

    It was stored around 0x017 I believe, either that or 0x0017... it was damn high.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    1v1 (as of June) :
    Wins: 2 Losses: 0
    We accept the love we think we deserve.

  2. #2
    Member sdrawkcab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    290
    Points
    784
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    290
    Points
    784

    Default

    hmm.. a hook has to be 0x03E00008 i believe.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by sdrawkcab; 01-05-2012 at 05:15 PM.

  3. #3
    CL Original
    Since 2008
    Jimmy 9222's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    307
    Points
    666
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    307
    Points
    666

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sdrawkcab View Post
    hmm.. a hook has to be 0x03E00008 i believe.
    If it was stored at 0x017 you're working in the stack... So no hooks would be stored there. If it was in 0x0017 that is a different story but no it is not a hook. 0x03E000008 is a jr ra which ends a function. I may be wrong though it's been a while...

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Member sdrawkcab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    290
    Points
    784
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    290
    Points
    784

    Default

    oh my bad i was thinking of making a hook for a joker. ah thats awkward. any way a hook is a J $ or a Jal $ and i pretty sure the value "1" is an unkown cmd (correct me if im wrong). well a hook is just changeing a jr ra to a J $ or Jal $ so thats why i was thinking of jr ra. a hook basicly just jumps to the start of a routine. J $ will normaly look something like this 0x0912E700. but there kinda pointless if you screw with them you normally freeze.. (unless you know where it jumps to)

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    1010010011010101101001
    Austin .'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Where the Green Grass Grows. <3
    Posts
    4,830
    Points
    2,134
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Where the Green Grass Grows. <3
    Posts
    4,830
    Points
    2,134
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: x-CrimsoN-x21

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/xCrimmYx?feature=mhee

    Default

    Yeah, I kind of concluded it wasn't a hook, just wondered what it was.

    Also, I now have a question.... 1 is an unknown command? Lol that might be some of my difficulties... I was going off of my wii knowledge, where 1 was active, or used, and 0 was unactive, or not being used... if that makes sense. You see, I thought I could find an addy that switches between 0 and 1, run for example, so that it would never be 0, but always 1 so whenever you walk your running.

    That's a poor example, I suppose, but if you understood what I meant.... I left out the walking value though... we'll just call that 0. Whatever, aha. c:

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    1v1 (as of June) :
    Wins: 2 Losses: 0
    We accept the love we think we deserve.

  6. #6
    CL Original
    Since 2008
    Jimmy 9222's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    307
    Points
    666
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    307
    Points
    666

    Default

    @Crimson 0 or 1 can still be a sort of on and off switch. Good luck with that though.

    Sent from my LG-P506 using Tapatalk

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by Jimmy 9222; 01-06-2012 at 07:37 AM.

  7. #7
    ($user_isGay == TRUE)? giveAids() : break; aids's Avatar

    Badge

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    20,361
    Points
    27,190
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    20,361
    Points
    27,190
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: TheOriginalVirus

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/riottape Kik Username: aids gtalk account: codeleakers.com@gmail.com

    Default

    first of all a hook is just an entry/attachment point for a forced subroutine. normally a hook is a j, jal, or jr ra. respectively they are jump, jump and link, and jump to return address.

    the 'hooks' are usually those commands because thats how mips moves around from sub to sub at a million instructions per second.

    technically all you have to do is jump to your subroutine from any location that has a constantly active loop. a way to test is find a jr ra, nop it, and if you freeze, chances are its an active hook.

    you can rewrite lines into jumps, u can change a j to jl or jr ra into j then jr ra at the end of your sub. as long as you can jump to and out of your sub without an exception, ur golden.

    j= jump to address with no return address stored.
    jal - jump and link, which jumps to an address while storing the ra (return address) into the $31 register, or simply the ra register.
    jr ra = jump return to return address = jumps to the address stored into the ra register,

    as for the role of 1 and 0, those are boolean values stored hexidecimally. when a logical comparison is made, there is a False (0) or a True(1) returned.

    my guess is that the 1 or 0 in the jump routine was used by something else to trigger an animation sequence, gravity calculation, or something else.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    BTC: 1AidsG8MHF4cEN6KpY1mhJPBhXtms65GVE

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    122
    Points
    379
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    122
    Points
    379

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/XaVieRuniversaL?feature=mhee

    Default

    Nice explanation aids. Are you a computer science teacher?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  9. #9
    ($user_isGay == TRUE)? giveAids() : break; aids's Avatar

    Badge

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    20,361
    Points
    27,190
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    20,361
    Points
    27,190
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: TheOriginalVirus

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/riottape Kik Username: aids gtalk account: codeleakers.com@gmail.com

    Default

    no, just a coder.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    BTC: 1AidsG8MHF4cEN6KpY1mhJPBhXtms65GVE

  10. #10
    1010010011010101101001
    Austin .'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Where the Green Grass Grows. <3
    Posts
    4,830
    Points
    2,134
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Where the Green Grass Grows. <3
    Posts
    4,830
    Points
    2,134
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: x-CrimsoN-x21

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/xCrimmYx?feature=mhee

    Default

    Lol. That's what I thought about the 0 and 1's, just was confused by an earlier explanation.

    Ooh well.

    Thanks for the help, everyone. I realize the psp scene is dead, so I am suprised at all the help I've gotten.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    1v1 (as of June) :
    Wins: 2 Losses: 0
    We accept the love we think we deserve.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -10. The time now is 11:13 AM.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.