Here's the message you'll get if you try to load a pre-owned game on Vita. Sounds scary, but we'll sort it out in no time. Click 'No' to return to the system's main menu.

We're going to format the pre-played card. To do that, return to the main menu (right) and touch and hold the screen for two seconds. This lets you rearrange icons, set a new background picture, and add more panes to your start screen.

Also, each icon has a little "…" bubble to the top right. This lets you see information on a game, delete unwanted demos, and, most usefully, format pre-played cards.

We're going to wipe Gameloft's goblin basher Dungeon Hunter: Alliance.

SOME GUY played it before me, thus locking me out of earning trophies. Hit the "..." and click 'Delete'.

Here's the screen you want to see: "All data related to this application will be deleted." This will delete any save games on the cartridge, and reset trophy privileges. Tap 'OK'.

Now, load the game again, and it will switch over to the Sony Entertainment Network account currently associated with the system. You can then earn trophies to your heart's content.

Oh, and it won't delete the previous player's trophies, so you don't have to worry about shafting the poor shmuck who sold his games to GameStop. This will remove all game saves for the game your deleting.