Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Red X Clan
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    pluto
    Posts
    264
    Points
    228
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    pluto
    Posts
    264
    Points
    228

    Default [Help] getting windows 7 on my comp?

    i wanna upgrade my xp to w7 but at the moment i have no dvd's and my comp doesnt allow the usb boot option so id like to know if theres any other methods i could try as i dont wanna really go out and buy any dvd's.

    here is my comp specs if need

    System:
    Microsoft Windows XP
    Home Edition
    Version 2002
    Service Pack 3
    x86-Based
    32-Bit

    Computer:
    Intel(R)
    Celeron(R) CPU 2.53GHz
    2.53GHz, 1.00GB of RAM

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    xREXx

    made by UtRLe

  2. #2
    Bad Company
    RED 58's Avatar

    Badge

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Goober's Coder CP
    Posts
    6,918
    Points
    9,658
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Goober's Coder CP
    Posts
    6,918
    Points
    9,658

    Default

    easy way would be to get a new computer

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!



    Quote Originally Posted by Iced View Post
    Red 58 = Swoot (Reincarnated)
    Quote Originally Posted by GOOBER View Post
    Terr0r you need a Gecko. Lets go to the Pet store and buy one
    Quote Originally Posted by ABlackGuy View Post
    He may not have a soul but he still has a brain. Unlike Russ who has neither.

  3. #3
    Designer
    Programmer
    Smiley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Behind You
    Posts
    1,081
    Points
    1,463
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Behind You
    Posts
    1,081
    Points
    1,463

    Default

    You can partition your hard drive into two parts.

    Hence, you will have XP on the first one, and install Win7 using the second.

    Read up hoss.

    How (and Why) to Partition Your Hard Drive

    Windows 7 install using ISO image mounting with Daemon Tools and a PARTITIONED drive
    (links to freeware programs to help partition your drive) Read the comments also.

    I read this in one of the comments:
    Make sure Daemon Tools is set to start when Windows starts, in Preferances make sure the box is checked
    in Daemon tools that says " Auto Start Tray Icon". Other than that the actual install files should just extract
    to the drive you specified. If not make sure you have your drive set to boot that Hard drive also or Partition.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by Smiley; 04-11-2012 at 08:00 PM.
    I did it for the lulz.
    I did it for the lulz.
    I did it for the lulz.

  4. #4
    Bot Bot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,671
    Points
    7,720
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,671
    Points
    7,720

    Default

    With 1GB of RAM you're probably better off sticking to Windows XP.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!








  5. #5
    Designer
    Programmer
    Smiley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Behind You
    Posts
    1,081
    Points
    1,463
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Behind You
    Posts
    1,081
    Points
    1,463

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eXtr3m3 View Post
    With 1GB of RAM you're probably better off sticking to Windows XP.
    Wow! I totally missed that part.

    What are you running man... an eMachine ?

    EDIT: I don't think your pc would be able to handle Win7 and it's features.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by Smiley; 04-12-2012 at 12:22 AM.
    I did it for the lulz.
    I did it for the lulz.
    I did it for the lulz.

  6. #6
    σиє ℓιfє. ℓινє ιт. C0D-FR34K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Heaven and Hell
    Posts
    1,444
    Points
    920
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Heaven and Hell
    Posts
    1,444
    Points
    920
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: xC0D--FR34Kx Steam ID: c0d-fr34k

    Default

    After hearing this, your computer must be ancient.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Red X Clan
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    pluto
    Posts
    264
    Points
    228
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    pluto
    Posts
    264
    Points
    228

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eXtr3m3 View Post
    With 1GB of RAM you're probably better off sticking to Windows XP.
    i was thinking of that and what about linux? also to the others my computer is old from like 04-05 but it still works good just out of date on alot of things.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    xREXx

    made by UtRLe

  8. #8
    Bot Bot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,671
    Points
    7,720
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,671
    Points
    7,720

    Default

    Linux would be fine. If your machine it runs it runs - just that standard specifications nowadays are 4GB+ of RAM and over the versions of Windows the recommended specifications have got higher.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!








  9. #9
    I'ma Fuckin Scalie

    Feckless.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    F̷̧̨̙̞̱̥̓̄̂ͯ̃ͬ̚̚͟U&#
    Posts
    3,013
    Points
    8,634
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    F̷̧̨̙̞̱̥̓̄̂ͯ̃ͬ̚̚͟U&#
    Posts
    3,013
    Points
    8,634
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: XEFDragon Steam ID: SketchyDragon

    Default

    You can run Windows 7 on 1gb of ram. I've done it on 256mb. All you gotta do is increase your pagefile size.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Quote Originally Posted by OSaMaBiNLoGiN View Post
    HOLY SHIT KILL YOURSELF
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuck Sky View Post
    Are you fucking retarded

  10. #10
    Old-Timer
    Peace
    Repulse310's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    981
    Points
    1,751
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    981
    Points
    1,751
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: Repulse310

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/Repulse310

    Default

    How do u make ur pagefile size smaller?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Xbox Gamer-Tag: Repulse310
    Quote Originally Posted by JellyBOB View Post
    i jrew a sircul!!!





Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -10. The time now is 06:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright © 2016 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.