Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Formally known as Tlpwnzer KazzababeGamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2,947
    Points
    5,427
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2,947
    Points
    5,427

    Default Processor Recomendation and help?

    I was planning on getting a new processor for my computer.
    Either intel i5 or i7.

    I plan on using it along with a new Graphics Card to play games like Call of Duty, Battlefield, etc.
    I was just wondering if I could do this all fine with an i5 processor instead of an i7 since the i7 is right around my price limit.

    Any help would be nice.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2

    Retired Prophet
    ToxicJew.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/kennethbgoodin

    Default

    An i5 will do you fine for gaming. You may get better frames with an i7, but I'm using an AMD processor that's about equivalent to an i3, and I still get 40-60 frames in games like Skyrim and GTA 4.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็༼ ຈل͜ຈ༽ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็ ็็็็็༼ ຈل͜ຈ༽ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้

  3. #3
    #HitlerDidNothingWrong
    ⌘Flying Dutchman⌘

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    4,018
    Points
    8,445
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    4,018
    Points
    8,445
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: baktiar77 Wii Code: baktiar77

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/77baktiar

    Default

    For Battlefield or any Frostbite-run game get 64bit OS and try your best getting an i7 though those AMD quad core A6/A8 processors are much better and at times cheaper.

    i5 core should run the game well, but then again Battlefield 3 really focuses on your 'Graphics card'

    Note: With Sandy Bridge (3rd gen) cores coming out (or maybe its out in America) , I'd recommend you wait a while to get one of those.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by Baktiar; 07-10-2012 at 07:54 PM.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    87
    Points
    331
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    87
    Points
    331

    Default

    i have an i3 and thats horrible for gaming the only thing i really play is sometimes mw2 but it lags alot

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    917
    Points
    1,182
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    917
    Points
    1,182

    Default

    I have a Quad i7 with 1GB of AMD GPU I can play any game on the highest settings no lag

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    I <3 Lax Badboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Nu Yawk
    Posts
    868
    Points
    3,481
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Nu Yawk
    Posts
    868
    Points
    3,481
    Gamer IDs

    Steam ID: xXArchdukeXx

    Default

    I5 and I7 really are only slightly different, you may get 10-15 extra fps with an i7, but you'll get 40-50 with an i5, that's what i have and i run skyrim at 54 fps. I had an i7 in my alienware before it fried and it ran at 60 fps with an i7 so i don't think i makes that much of a difference. i5 is like $40 cheaper right? Go with the i5 unless you want the total gaming experience, but don't forget about having at least 4 gigs of ram if your upgrading all this because ram is what screws me on this computer.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Help support me and earn money for yourself with your free time! http://points2shop.com/

  7. #7

    Retired Prophet
    ToxicJew.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/kennethbgoodin

    Default

    Video cards are just as important to FPS as well. Don't get an i7 or an i5 and then pair it with a low end card.

    Quote Originally Posted by MrderVonJuden View Post
    with 1GB of AMD GPU
    That doesn't mean much, dude. There's a huge difference between a 1GB 6850 and a 6950, for example. Vram is important, but only to a certain degree.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by ToxicJew.; 07-11-2012 at 06:34 AM.
    ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็༼ ຈل͜ຈ༽ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็ ็็็็็༼ ຈل͜ຈ༽ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -10. The time now is 01:55 AM.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.