Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member +l zUrEaL l+'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Cuddling With Your Kitty :3
    Posts
    64
    Points
    155
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Cuddling With Your Kitty :3
    Posts
    64
    Points
    155

    Default [HELP] Windows 7 installation

    So i was trying to install windows 7 again cus i have Linux. And when i went to install it off my disk it said it was unable to format my hard drive because it was unrecognizable. And I cant click the format button, its just gray and i cant click it. Do you guys know why its doing this? And if you guys can help on it, it will be appreciated


    Mine looks like this but i only have 1 hard drive(this ain't mine got it from Google but that's what it says)
    (Windows cannot be installed to Disk...






    This button is gray so it doesn't let me format my hard drive


    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    [X]Piss Off Kids On Wii
    Check Out My Forums!!

  2. #2

    Retired Prophet
    ToxicJew.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/kennethbgoodin

    Default

    That is all one drive up there, it's partitioned, meaning OS's see it as more than one virtual drive for each partition.

    First of all, you need to allocate more space than 5.2GB. Installing Windows 7 is going to erase the drive, incase you didn't know, so it'd be best to just format the whole thing.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็༼ ຈل͜ຈ༽ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็ ็็็็็༼ ຈل͜ຈ༽ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้

  3. #3
    Member +l zUrEaL l+'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Cuddling With Your Kitty :3
    Posts
    64
    Points
    155
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Cuddling With Your Kitty :3
    Posts
    64
    Points
    155

    Default

    That's the problem it don't let me format it. I tried to click the format button but it doesn't highlight it so its not able to format it. I mean if there's another way too format it from Linux. But for now i don't know what too do.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    [X]Piss Off Kids On Wii
    Check Out My Forums!!

  4. #4

    Retired Prophet
    ToxicJew.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/kennethbgoodin

    Default

    Format it in Linux. It's probably not letting you in Windows 7 because that's not enough space for Windows to be installed on.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็༼ ຈل͜ຈ༽ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็ ็็็็็༼ ຈل͜ຈ༽ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้

  5. #5
    Member +l zUrEaL l+'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Cuddling With Your Kitty :3
    Posts
    64
    Points
    155
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Cuddling With Your Kitty :3
    Posts
    64
    Points
    155

    Default

    How?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    [X]Piss Off Kids On Wii
    Check Out My Forums!!

  6. #6
    Member +l zUrEaL l+'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Cuddling With Your Kitty :3
    Posts
    64
    Points
    155
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Cuddling With Your Kitty :3
    Posts
    64
    Points
    155

    Default

    Im sorry i'm kinda new to all this

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    [X]Piss Off Kids On Wii
    Check Out My Forums!!

  7. #7
    Designer
    Programmer
    Smiley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Behind You
    Posts
    1,081
    Points
    1,463
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Behind You
    Posts
    1,081
    Points
    1,463

    Default

    There are a total of 4 steps involved for hard disk upgrade and installation procedure..

    STEP 2> Format the new disk using mkfs.ext3 command

    To format Linux partitions using ext2fs on the new disk:
    Code:
    # mkfs.ext3 /dev/sdb1
    STEP 3> Mount the new disk using mount command

    First create a mount point /disk1 and use mount command to mount /dev/sdb1, enter:
    Code:
    # mkdir /disk1
    # mount /dev/sdb1 /disk1
    # df -H
    STEP 4> Update /etc/fstab file

    Open /etc/fstab file, enter:
    Code:
    # vi /etc/fstab
    Append as follows:
    Code:
    /dev/sdb1               /disk1           ext3    defaults        1 2
    Save and close the file.
    TASK> Label the partition

    You can label the partition using e2label. For example, if you want to label the new partition /backup, enter
    Code:
    # e2label /dev/sdb1 /backup
    You can use label name insted of partition name to mount disk using /etc/fstab:
    Code:
    LABEL=/backup /disk1 ext3 defaults 1 2
    SOURCE: CyberCiti

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by Smiley; 07-23-2012 at 12:58 PM.
    I did it for the lulz.
    I did it for the lulz.
    I did it for the lulz.

  8. #8
    I'ma Fuckin Scalie

    Feckless.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    F̷̧̨̙̞̱̥̓̄̂ͯ̃ͬ̚̚͟U&#
    Posts
    3,066
    Points
    8,699
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    F̷̧̨̙̞̱̥̓̄̂ͯ̃ͬ̚̚͟U&#
    Posts
    3,066
    Points
    8,699
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: XEFDragon Steam ID: SketchyDragon

    Default

    Or, you could download d-ban boot and nuke, burn it to disk and boot from it. That will delete any filesystem on your drive and make it raw. Then you can proceed with using your Windows install.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    P R O F E S S I O N A L S H I T P O S T E R



  9. #9
    fear_bot
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Insane.Dragon View Post
    Or, you could download d-ban boot and nuke, burn it to disk and boot from it. That will delete any filesystem on your drive and make it raw. Then you can proceed with using your Windows install.
    This.

    Zero that bitch out, the right way.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Member +l zUrEaL l+'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Cuddling With Your Kitty :3
    Posts
    64
    Points
    155
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Cuddling With Your Kitty :3
    Posts
    64
    Points
    155

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fear_bot View Post
    This.

    Zero that bitch out, the right way.
    Disorder how do you do that? Its stewie by the way

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    [X]Piss Off Kids On Wii
    Check Out My Forums!!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -10. The time now is 04:26 AM.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.