Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: OverClocking

  1. #1
    Art Corner Moderator MejaiDesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3,997
    Points
    1,612
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3,997
    Points
    1,612

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/ApexDesignsCL

    Default OverClocking

    I have a question for anyone does anyone have a tutorial on how to OverClock Your Processer and Graphic Card and also is this safe to do?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2

    Retired Prophet
    ToxicJew.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/kennethbgoodin

    Default

    Overclocking is perfectly safe as long as you monitor your temps, and have a good aftermarket cooler.

    You can overclock your processor by going into the BIOS and changing the CPU multiplier value. My CPU has a reference value of 200mhz, and my multiplier is set to 22x, making my CPU run at 4400mhz, or 4.4ghz.

    Overclocking your graphics card depends on which brand you have, and also relies on your cooling.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Art Corner Moderator MejaiDesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3,997
    Points
    1,612
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3,997
    Points
    1,612

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/ApexDesignsCL

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ToxicJew. View Post
    Overclocking is perfectly safe as long as you monitor your temps, and have a good aftermarket cooler.

    You can overclock your processor by going into the BIOS and changing the CPU multiplier value. My CPU has a reference value of 200mhz, and my multiplier is set to 22x, making my CPU run at 4400mhz, or 4.4ghz.

    Overclocking your graphics card depends on which brand you have, and also relies on your cooling.
    Okay i manly need my Processer up and it's a shity 1Ghz dual core so can i edit it to lets say 2Ghz or something.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4

    Retired Prophet
    ToxicJew.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/kennethbgoodin

    Default

    First of all, is the computer a desktop? If not (like a laptop), don't even attempt overclocking.

    I wouldn't shoot for a 1000mhz jump right away. Bump the multiplier up one, stress test with something like prime95. If it's stable, go back into the BIOS and bump it up another notch, and stress test again. Repeat this until it either doesn't boot or the prime95 test crashes, then increase the voltage by one notch. There are more detailed tutorials out there.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Art Corner Moderator MejaiDesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3,997
    Points
    1,612
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3,997
    Points
    1,612

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/ApexDesignsCL

    Default

    Yeah it's a laptop i was told you could overclock them i just want to make sure before i mess with things.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6

    Retired Prophet
    ToxicJew.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/kennethbgoodin

    Default

    If you overclock your laptop, chances are you're going to fry it. Best not to risk it. Laptops don't have good cooling.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Art Corner Moderator MejaiDesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3,997
    Points
    1,612
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3,997
    Points
    1,612

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/ApexDesignsCL

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ToxicJew. View Post
    If you overclock your laptop, chances are you're going to fry it. Best not to risk it. Laptops don't have good cooling.
    Okay, well do you think there is anyway of lower lag or anything?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    mini mini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,988
    Points
    2,840
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,988
    Points
    2,840
    Gamer IDs

    PSN ID: minnesotastyle

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: www.youtube.com/user/codeleakerforums

    Default OverClocking

    Quote Originally Posted by PhotoShopAddict View Post
    Okay, well do you think there is anyway of lower lag or anything?
    Edit the RAM allotted to the game you play.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!


  9. #9

    Retired Prophet
    ToxicJew.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/kennethbgoodin

    Default

    More RAM will help a little, but facts are your computer just isn't very good.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Elite Memory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4,526
    Points
    12,469
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4,526
    Points
    12,469

    Default OverClocking

    More RAM will just help prevent the hard drive from being used as memory, which means faster loading (RAM is significantly faster than a hard drive).

    RAM becomes redundant once you start to exceed 8 GB's though, unless you're doing extreme multitasking. Most people are fine with 4 GB's, going as low as 2 GB's.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -10. The time now is 09:58 AM.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.