Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Curret n3wbit
    Russ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,193
    Points
    3,398
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,193
    Points
    3,398
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: SSRunts PSN ID: DCCoexist Steam ID: dcrunts

    Default My Potential PC Build


    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by Russ; 02-11-2013 at 01:48 PM.

    "Sense is not made like money, sense is had like heart, pride, and integrity."~Russ

  2. #2
    Tig O Bitties
    Grey's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Candy Mountain
    Posts
    2,935
    Points
    2,964
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Candy Mountain
    Posts
    2,935
    Points
    2,964

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/l3g3darymods

    Default

    not a big fan of the phantom but good job

    some ideas for changes would be in the motherboard and powersupply

    i'd recommend
    this motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157265

    and this power supply: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139005

    and if that makes it over budget then just downgrade to a 1tb hdd. you don't really need that large a hdd unless you are doing a ton of rendering

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Curret n3wbit
    Russ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,193
    Points
    3,398
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,193
    Points
    3,398
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: SSRunts PSN ID: DCCoexist Steam ID: dcrunts

    Default

    Really? I love how the case looks.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    "Sense is not made like money, sense is had like heart, pride, and integrity."~Russ

  4. #4

    Retired Prophet
    ToxicJew.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/kennethbgoodin

    Default

    I wouldn't get that power supply. You can get a Corsair 600w power supply for the same price; better brand and higher wattage. It's the PSU I use. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139028

    I doubt you'll ever use that much RAM. I rarely use all of my 8GB.

    The case is used by a lot of people.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็༼ ຈل͜ຈ༽ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็ ็็็็็༼ ຈل͜ຈ༽ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้

  5. #5
    Curret n3wbit
    Russ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,193
    Points
    3,398
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,193
    Points
    3,398
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: SSRunts PSN ID: DCCoexist Steam ID: dcrunts

    Default

    The amount of RAM is a Just In Case because I do plan on using this pc for a long time and that may mean for work in the future I do which may require more RAM. And I wasn't sure if that PSU would work with the MOBO I picked out.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    "Sense is not made like money, sense is had like heart, pride, and integrity."~Russ

  6. #6
    Tig O Bitties
    Grey's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Candy Mountain
    Posts
    2,935
    Points
    2,964
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Candy Mountain
    Posts
    2,935
    Points
    2,964

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/l3g3darymods

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Russ View Post
    The amount of RAM is a Just In Case because I do plan on using this pc for a long time and that may mean for work in the future I do which may require more RAM. And I wasn't sure if that PSU would work with the MOBO I picked out.
    all power supplies are compatible with all motherboards. there should never be a compatibility problem

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7

    Retired Prophet
    ToxicJew.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    S̢͎̳̞̲͈̪̳̻ͮͩt̟̳̏ͬ̔&#
    Posts
    7,809
    Points
    7,616

    Contact info:

    Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/kennethbgoodin

    Default

    It'll work, don't worry about compatibility between modern motherboards and power supplies. The only thing you really have to worry about is the CPU socket and motherboard socket.

    16GB is fine, and for the price you may as well get it, but don't try to "future-proof" your system.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็༼ ຈل͜ຈ༽ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็ ็็็็็༼ ຈل͜ຈ༽ส้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้้

  8. #8
    Curret n3wbit
    Russ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,193
    Points
    3,398
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,193
    Points
    3,398
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: SSRunts PSN ID: DCCoexist Steam ID: dcrunts

    Default

    Alright added changed the power supply. Save some money for a better product.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    "Sense is not made like money, sense is had like heart, pride, and integrity."~Russ

  9. #9
    I'ma Fuckin Scalie

    Feckless.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    F̷̧̨̙̞̱̥̓̄̂ͯ̃ͬ̚̚͟U&#
    Posts
    3,066
    Points
    8,699
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    F̷̧̨̙̞̱̥̓̄̂ͯ̃ͬ̚̚͟U&#
    Posts
    3,066
    Points
    8,699
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: XEFDragon Steam ID: SketchyDragon

    Default

    The phantom is a sexy case, although the sidepanels are a bit flimsy. Other than that it's a good case.

    Another issue, don't mix Intel with AMD graphics, here's a good card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130661

    And the harddrive you've got picked out has terrible reviews, I'd get this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136792

    I'd also consider getting a cooler besides the stock Intel one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835103099 However, if you've got a bit more cash in your budget you could get this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106150

    The difference between the Coolermaster evo, and the Thermaltake frio, is the evo has direct copper (highly conductive) heatpipe contact. The Frio has larger heatpipes than the evo, and they're nickel plated which means they have less conductivity as copper.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by Feckless.; 01-26-2013 at 07:20 PM.
    P R O F E S S I O N A L S H I T P O S T E R



  10. #10
    Curret n3wbit
    Russ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,193
    Points
    3,398
         User Info     Contact     Gamer ID
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,193
    Points
    3,398
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: SSRunts PSN ID: DCCoexist Steam ID: dcrunts

    Default

    Alright thanks insane. I'll update list a little later.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    "Sense is not made like money, sense is had like heart, pride, and integrity."~Russ

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -10. The time now is 11:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.